US MailStar Mail Box - Black Reviews

Ref: TSS-US-B
Thumb image of The Safe Shop US MailStar Mail Box - Black
Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10

8.7 / 10 based on 22 reviews.

£35.99 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Build Quality Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10Rated 8.3 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10Rated 8.7 / 10
Weather Resistance Rated 6.0 / 10Rated 6.0 / 10Rated 6.0 / 10Rated 6.0 / 10Rated 6.0 / 10
Value for Money Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10
30 March 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

It is bigger than almost any other postbox. Great to store packages.

The latches broke when I put them on. Could use a stronger material.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

16 February 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The postman does no longer get growled and barked at but also the box is large enough to accommodate magazines and small parcels. Brilliant stuff!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

25 May 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Slightly on the lightweight side but once on the pole and in the ground it is fine. There is no security as it is an open type so did not expect any. Otherwise it looks great but the metal bolts on the front rusted withing days and I have now painted them black, so it is fine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

28 September 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It was just what I wanted for a neighbour who lives down a lane and the paperboy would have had a bit of a walk... I think it would be not that difficult to remove...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

1 December 2011
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Easy to access mail without bending and my Postman tells me it is much preferable to rectangular mailboxes which he cannot easily get the mail into. security could be an issue for people who live close to the road.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

12 January 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

My daughter was thrilled with it and she is very fussy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

27 November 2014
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

This unit was simple to mount by our front door and looks very good. Using it is very easy and our local postman seems to like it.

Living near the coast it was important the the main body was galvanised. This should ensure a long life for the product.

There were no serious problems with the post box but it would have been helpful had it had a little more capacity.

Perhaps the only negative feature of the post box is that the spring latch that keeps the door closed was made of an inferior steel or at least it was not properly heat treated to retain "spring". It will probably need replacing at sometime.

Despite this problem I am very satisfied with the Post box.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 August 2013
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Perfectly suited for mounting in rural location.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

28 March 2013
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

I like the idea of it because the postman does not leave the post half in and half out of our letter box so no draft. It is well made and easey to assemble.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

4 November 2012
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Works well, keeps mail dry, protects postie from the dog. For security, the regular postie only sets flag when we're in (ie car on drive). His relief man is not so clever! Relief Postie keeps bending the spring catch to open the flap. It's going to break real soon. It needs to be more substantial.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

27 September 2012
Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10Rated 6.6 / 10 6.6 / 10

I like the traditional US design

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

13 September 2012
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

very happy with item but better if post was supplied with item. Also should have message telling postman to lift arm as not all postman do this so you dont know if post is left. like the size just wish postman would put up arm when post is delivered.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 August 2012
Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10Rated 5.8 / 10 5.8 / 10

Size. Pole fixing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

22 June 2012
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

handy for postman

easy to mount on a wall

large enough for medium parcels

the only thing letting this down the lack of security

as my box is outside my gate of entry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

17 May 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Nice and easy to use. Colonial yankie style. Talk of the neighbourhood.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 May 2012
Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10Rated 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10

Large capacity Letter box that allows newspapers. Paint finnish looks good.

No assembly required

No security feature at all

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

11 January 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

the post remains dry even in our weather in central scotland. the indicator arm is very useful as it means I dont have to go out in the rain/snow/sleet/gale only to find there isnt any post. I suppose for some people the fact it doesnt lock could be a problem but for me it doesn't matter

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

2 November 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

23 October 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

handy for posty

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

31 August 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

looks great and my children love it. wouldn't fit into small spaces

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

10 August 2011
Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10Rated 7.2 / 10 7.2 / 10

Free standing and easy for the postie to leave letters in. Just what we needed whilst we had building work ongoing at our house leaving us with no front door or letter box for a while.

An absolute faff to put together and NO INSTRUCTIONS! Not very secure and difficult to get large letters into.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

12 January 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

excellent product and a top class company to deal with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

This product has 22 reviews.