The Safe Shop FireStar Safe (large) Reviews

Ref: TSS-FSHSL
Thumb image of The Safe Shop FireStar Safe (large)
Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10

9 / 10 based on 44 reviews.

£215.94 inc. VAT
Ease of Use Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10Rated 9.3 / 10
Build Quality Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10Rated 9.0 / 10
Storage Capacity Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10Rated 8.5 / 10
Security Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10
Value for Money Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10
December 15 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

It does exactly what it says on the tin. Everything works as described.

Particularly good for our use is that it can take A4 files, ring and lever arch, vertically, and still leave the tray above for smaller items.

Minor comment only:

- the twist handle, if left clockwise, means the door can be closed without having to re-enter the combination; but if not opened carefully the vibration can shake the handle back round.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

August 17 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Good value, easy to use. Would have preferred key option in case combination number is forgotten.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 13 2011
Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10Rated 8.4 / 10 8.4 / 10

Telephone customer agents were excellent. The safe is exactly what we wanted for a reasonable price. So we are pleased.

There was a chip on the safe which was a bit disappointing. But it wasn't worth sending back for a small chip. This appears to be something done before the safe was sent as the transit packaging was very protective. The only serious gripe was the delivery company who did not deliver on the day arranged and then proceeded to tell us that they had done two attempts. Even though we knew this NOT to be true.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 21 2013
Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10Rated 7 / 10 7 / 10

Good solid buid. could not change door orientation.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 8 2013
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Decent size at sensible price

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 31 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Liked how heavy and strong it is. Like the idea of putting multi combinations in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 8 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Ther product is very robust and very easy to use.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 3 2013
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

Easy to use and solidly built

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

November 29 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

extremely easy to set up, compact safe, fits perfectly in our office and large enough for our needs

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

November 1 2012
Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10Rated 7.6 / 10 7.6 / 10

Easy to use

Good capacity

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

October 18 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good product, easy to use. Battery access from outside a good idea.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

October 18 2012
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

has a handy tray at the top of the safe

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

October 18 2012
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

easy to set up. sturdy. good internal capacity. plastic tray is a bit flimsy

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

July 12 2012
Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10Rated 7.4 / 10 7.4 / 10

Easy to operate and with 2 security codes in case one is lost or for different users.

The safe was bought primarily for critical documents & PC data storage althoughthere is enough space (just!) for a laptop to fit in (albeit diagonally with shelf out) while away on holiday.

reasonably easy to fit the secure floor bolts.

It's very heavy to try and move when installing! Although this is a bonus from a security viewpoint as it would really take 2 people to move it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

July 5 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

The safe is good quality and value. Even though shown as large, I still struggled to fit A4/foolscap files/papers when together other items on the shelf. I may have too much stuff!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

June 17 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

At eighty kilos it takes two people to lift this, plenty of space for laptops inside and keypad makes it easy to share across the family. I cannot imagine anyone getting into this without an angle grinder and hours to spare. Incredible value, at this price a no brainer. The keypad is plastic and could easily be vandalised, but there is no quick way for burglars to get in without the combination.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

June 15 2012
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Reasonable interior capacity, and very easy to use

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

June 14 2012
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

easy to use

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

April 17 2012
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

I liked the ease of use and the price. I didn't like the fact that the first safe was damaged when it arrived. The safe is heavy and not easily manouverable but these could be good points as well as bad ones!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 9 2012
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

The safe is ideal for a small office to store computer data and paperwork safely and securely. Overall very happy with the product. Has not been put to the real test (fire!) and hope it never is. Had to remove shelf and drawer to enable laptop to fit. A bigger safe would have been better, but then it would have been bigger, heavier and more expensive. Safe was purchased with the stated specification.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 1 2012
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

Its functionality is great and easy to use, and looks like it will last a long time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 4 2012
Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10Rated 6.8 / 10 6.8 / 10

seems to be good but have not tested in a fire! would like to have manual access as well

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

August 17 2011
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Very easy to use the combination lock. Our fault - we should have gone for one size bigger (we didn't take account of the thickness of the walls!)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 17 2011
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

Easy to use

appears well made

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 16 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

Easy access easy to secure to floor. Supplied batteries failed but replaced with duracell and all seems ok

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 15 2011
Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10Rated 8 / 10 8 / 10

it does what we wanted

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 9 2011
Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10Rated 8.2 / 10 8.2 / 10

good value poduct,good storage capacity and better value for money than large diy store options and "leading names" brand products. keypad could have a slightly more substantial feel to it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 9 2011
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

great little safe for home use plenty of internal space for all personel docs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 9 2011
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

Excellent value.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

February 9 2011
Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10Rated 9.6 / 10 9.6 / 10

I love it! There was only one very small guy to deliver it and it was lucky there was a strong man here who could help him carry the safe into the house.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 26 2011
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

all as expected but i can only give a rating of 5 for security as i would not know how good it really is!! poor instruction manual.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

July 18 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

We are pleased with this purchase. The drawer is especially useful for keeping the smaller valuables and documents such as passports and there is ample space for files below. The hooks on the door are also useful. To prevent things getting cluttered in the main part of the safe I have made a tiered shelf section to one side from thin plywood on which things such as little jewelry boxes can be stored. The construction appears to be robust and its certainly too heavy to be easily removed. To make unlawful removal even more difficult I have secured the safe with the fixings supplied which was a straight forward job. Operation of the access mechanism is also straight forward. We are pleased that we purchased the large version.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 31 2014
Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10Rated 9.8 / 10 9.8 / 10

Very good strong product, it takes two to handle unless your are a weight lifter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 30 2014
Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10Rated 8.8 / 10 8.8 / 10

The safe was exactly as described and met my expectations.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 23 2014
Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10Rated 6.4 / 10 6.4 / 10

Floor bolts supplied were too short, but had some longer ones in my garage. Size not that big, I would class as medium not large.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 21 2014
Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10Rated 9.2 / 10 9.2 / 10

The safe I purchased (Firestar Safe (large)) was bought for home use and fulfils all my requirements. It is a very robust and solid unit. It came with everything I expected, even including batteries for the electronic keypad on the front.

The unit is very heavy and I would caution anyone purchasing one to seek assistance if planning to locate it any distance from the point at which it is delivered!

My only (very small) gripe about this safe is that the pastic cover for the batteries in the front-mounted keypad comes off very easily. I'm sure that this could be rectified with a small, self-tapping screw, so it isn't a major issue in the slightest.

I've had the safe for several months now and amvery pleased - a happy customer!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 12 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Good size and well built Very good price looking at others that I have seen on the internet.

Can not be easily picked up. No one could run

of with this safe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

January 10 2014
Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10Rated 8.6 / 10 8.6 / 10

Good value for money, and hopefully, it will keep my documents safe in the event of fire.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

December 13 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

Well priced, sturdy and attractive safe. Can keep our house deeds, passports etc. as well as jewelry etc. safe from fire and theft.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

October 31 2013
Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10Rated 7.8 / 10 7.8 / 10

Excellent safe. Just what we required.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

August 15 2013
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

exactly as it says in the advert. Very easy to set up and use

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes / No

September 5 2014
Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10Rated 9 / 10 9 / 10

Excellent service received from store staff prior to placing an order. Delivery was on time and the delivery man even helped me to carry the safe to its first floor location. What an unexpected bonus! A pity that the internal storage space is not a centimetre or so deeper. It is just too short to accept an A4 file.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

August 14 2014
Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10Rated 9.4 / 10 9.4 / 10

The safe is exactly what I was looking for it. It fits my requirements in terms of security and fire protection, which thankfully neither has been put to the test yet. I am using it every day and popping things in and out as required and it is all working perfect. Great space inside to store combination of paperwork and electronic media.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

July 20 2014
Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10Rated 10 / 10 10 / 10

I would certainly recommend The Safe Shop, good clear website with a good selection of safes, easy to order and very quick delivery. Chose this safe as we wanted one large enough for the laptop to fit in, which it does. The safe was easy to fit. We decided to buy a safe after a relative had items stolen from the home. We feel happy having the extra security. We also chose this safe because it was fireproof and wanted somewhere secure for important documents such as certificates and passports. Our son sold a car the weekend after we had the safe fitted and we could place the money securely in the safe until the bank opened on the Monday.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes / No

Out of the 48 people who rated this product, 44 reviewed it and 4 did not leave a comment.